Your body language shapes who you are

I have learned so many things about body language from watching the ted video of Amy Cuddy. Amy shared in the video that anyone can change not only others’ perceptions of them, but the way they feel about themselves. We could feel powerful depending on two minutes of “power posing”, with our arms out, our chins lifted up high and our posture expansive.
The amazing part about the body language is that when you associate with dominance for just 120 seconds, it is enough to create a twenty percent increase in testosterone hormone and a twenty-five percent decrease in the stress hormone, cortisol. In other words, adopting these postures can make a person feel more powerful.
Being powerful, what does that exactly mean? Feeling strong? Being a superhero? It’s just that one intangible thing people want to have and just by using body language, we can achieve that, we can be powerful.

I didn’t understand the video the first time, so I watched it over and over again until I got what she was trying to say. I know that body language can be very helpful in a lot of different ways, especially for people with hearing problems (deaf) or any other serious problems.
Body language is a great way of expressing emotions and it is a part of communication. I think that communicating in different ways is very important because you can create, send, receive and interpret different messages. We all know that there are two different types of communication, verbal and non-verbal. 
When we use body language, we use gestures, facial expressions and we stand/sit in different postures.

  I have watched my family  throughout the whole week to see if we used any body language. I have noticed that my dad used a lot of non-verbal communication(body language) because he is still not very good at English. He used his hands to show what he was thinking and it surprised me that others actually understood him and this showed how strong body language is.
During the week, I have noticed myself being “small” when I did presentations and I crossed my arms and stretched out and made myself “big”, when I felt proud.
I think that expressing body language in a different way can change the whole meaning. For example, when we are sad, we cry and when we are happy, we smile and we can tell just by looking at  expressions. So body language can be very helpful but not always, depending on how you express them. When we interrupt, accuse, use sarcasm, judge and insult, this could stop the communication and lead to conflict. This is what I call “communication roadblocks”. Learning to recognize roadblocks can help us keep them from cropping up in our conversations. So we always need to be careful when we use emotions in different ways using body language.
Also, I really liked amy’s quote because it was very strong and had a huge impact on about body language.
” Don’t fake it till you make it. Fake it till you become it.” – Amy Cuddy

Leave a Reply

